Community Kashrut was formed in April 2015 under the auspices of the NSW Jewish Board of Deputies (JBOD) and the Council of Orthodox Synagogues of NSW (COS).

Representing the wider community, our Board is comprised of up to eight representatives chosen by JBOD and COS.

All Community Kashrut Directors are accountable to and serve at the pleasure of JBOD and COS. Accordingly all the Directors are democratically appointed representatives of the NSW Jewish Community.

All Directors serve Community Kashrut in a strictly voluntary capacity with each coming from a cross section of the community and from a variety of professions. Community Kashrut can draw up on their various skills in order to provide the NSW Jewish Community with an efficient and professionally run kosher supervisory authority.

The Va’ad HaRabbanim represent a wide cross section of the Jewish community.

NSW Jewish Board of Deputies

  • Nicolas Meer (President)
  • Jodi Kofsky
  • Bryan Sher

  • Ian Charif (Treasurer)
  • Bernice Charif
  • Mervyn Stein

  • Rabbi Blackman (Jewish Learning Centre)
  • Rabbi Krebs (Kehillat Masada)
  • Rabbi Reich (Formerly of Adath Yisroel Synagogue)
  • Rabbi Rom

Rabbi Yedidya Krauthammer
Rabbi Yedidya Krauthammer
Rav Hamachshir

Prior to joining Community Kashrut, Rabbi Krauthammer was the deputy (in matters of kashrut) to Rabbi Micha Halevi, the Chief Rabbi of Petach Tikva, Israel. There he managed a team of 9 supervisors for over 500 businesses and co-ordinated over 200 mashgihim.

One of Rabbi Krauthammer’s primary roles was to develop and implement relevant processes, policies and procedures for each enterprise, according to their needs. This included abattoirs, meat packing and processing factories, meat storage, bakeries, caterers, function halls, aged care facilities, restaurants, fast food establishments and many more.

Rabbi Krauthammer also ran training seminars for the mashgichim. to ensure high standards and professionalism. He worked closely with the esteemed Rabbi Lau and many kashrut organisations including Badatz Eidah HaChareidit, Badatz Yoreh Deah and the Chief Rabbinate of Israel.

Rabbi Krauthammer is married with three children and was a resident of Petach Tikva, Israel.  He has a BA and MBA from Kiryat Ono Academic College, specialising in marketing and human resources. He received his smicha from Rabbi Micha Halevi, Chief Rabbi of Petach Tikva.